Home > Uncategorized > One of my first seminary sermons

One of my first seminary sermons

I was recently asked to provide a preaching sample to a church. I found this old sermon among my files. It was prepared for my professor Dr. Kent Hughes, a preaching legend and someone I believe to be one of the best expositors of God’s word alive today. The class was a short Jan term course of the exposition of the book of Philippians. I caught strep throat and highly medicated during the entire class (which was only a week long), but still managed to produce a sermon for him. I got an amazingly kind letter from him a few weeks later complimenting the work, which to this day gives me goosebumps. I am my toughest critic, but I do think I did a good job explaining a relatively tough text, a task which I believe I have been called to. It’s fairly short, there are no jokes, and I am indeed reading my manuscript, but I wish more preachers would just explain God’s Word and leave it at that. Comments welcome, but be kind or be better!

The Gospel Goes On

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

