Home > Uncategorized > Don’t Want to Be an American Christian

Don’t Want to Be an American Christian

September 9, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I don’t want to be an American Christian.

I don’t want to make public events out of prayer when Jesus told me to pray privately.

I don’t want to go to war for revenge when Jesus told me to forgive my enemies.

I don’t want to “help” the poor help themselves when Jesus told me to care for the least of these.

I don’t want to tell non-Christians how they should live when Jesus told me to love my neighbor.

I don’t want to withhold my riches from the poor to protect my future when Jesus told me I could die tonight.

I don’t want to lie to get ahead when Jesus told me to tell the truth.

I don’t want to hate those who “seek to destroy our way of life” when Jesus told me to love my enemies.

I don’t want to believe that America is the only hope for the world when Jesus told me that he is.

I don’t want to be an American Christian.

I want to be a Jesus Christian.

  1. justinhiebert
    September 9, 2012 at 4:50 pm

    Very well said. Thanks for posting it.

  2. September 21, 2012 at 4:28 am

    Hey there I enjoy reading your posts, keep up the good work.

    greetings from an icelandic theology student

    • September 21, 2012 at 8:12 am

      Thanks friend. I will try my best.

  3. September 24, 2012 at 9:37 am

    How did I miss this post. Great words. I am frankly fed up with the whole politicization of my God. He is not a commodity, He is the holy God. I can’t stand both sides invoking him when the actions of neither party lines up with the actions we are called to. America is not now, nor has it ever been, a Christian nation. It’s time to stop pretending Church and wake up. The Kingdom of God will never be accomplished through political means, but only through Christians actually doing what Jesus commands: feed the hungry, visit those in prison, care for the least of these, heal the sick, sacrifice your own rights/privileges/property, take up your cross, follow Christ, declare his Resurrection. In Luke’s Gospel the beatitudes begin “Blessed are the poor.” And are paralleled by “Cursed are the rich.” For too long it seems American Christians have ignored what the beatitudes actually convey (flipping society upside down).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

